The question, of course, when I’m photowalking the shit out of Dublin, is “What kind of Dublin am I trying capture?”.  Am I trying to capture the old 80s Dublin, flats and people riding donkeys or queuing on the dole, the “new Dublin” of the 90s and early 00-ies, pristine buildings with their concierge’ (concierges? conciergiez?) or some sort of symbolic and/or shambolic building site entrance next to a grandiose Dublin monument to represent the yawn-bore image of Ireland and its greek-greed tragedy fall from grace? Ideally I guess I’m looking for something that represents all and none of the above.

I don’t know if Moore Street “represents” Dublin? It’s certainly very photogenic but there is a worry that you’re gonna end up with photos that show a cliched, old fashioned view. At the same time it does give a unique and interesting insight into our history… and it’s all shitty and dirty and texturey and stuff.

In many ways the area feels like it has passed its heyday (if it ever had one?); the Ilac Centre entrance still retains its now rusted, smashed and godawfully dated awning and the sunfaded remains of its big entrance sign loom above the street.

At the same time the area has changed a lot recently (and by recently I mean since fuckin ages ago when I remember them selling “wrapping paper foivefura-pouuuuund”) with a large ethnic population. Right next to the historic 16 Moore Street, which is now an abandoned degraded ex-toy shop, is a tiny one door toy store with cheap blow up Spongebob Squarepants’s, Hello Kittys and easy-to-kick footballs. It is run by a Sihk storeowner. Next to that is a hair and weave shop. I guess maybe, in many ways, this one street has represented better than many others Ireland’s cosmopolitan transformation over the years.

At the end of the street is a skip filled with the usual detritus of a busy shopping area. But as I pass I catch the unmistakably sweet smell of Fresh Irish Strawberries.


