I'm Wits Toopid

It was the best of times, it was the blurst of times…


I’m a a mere couple of hundred metres from the edge of the Nile yet standing at the precipice of 5,000 kms of the most uninhabitable land in the world. The thing that strikes me about the Sahara desert is that it’s less the pristine sandy dunes of legend and more mostly just an endless crappy Dublin beach mixture of sand and rocks. That said, it is pretty awesome.

I’ve taken the quicker route to the top of the dune, racing up the sheer sand wall (much to the disappointment of my lungs and those muscles in the backs of my legs that I reserve only for special occasions and exercise) but some of the group are taking the slightly longer, slightly less “Oh Christ, I think I just collapsed a lung” route. They stop for a break and I snap a picture of them, mere specs of dirt on the gritty sand horizon.

6 Responses to “STANDING AT THE EDGE OF THE WORLD, Aswan, Egypt, Nov 2010”

  1. FELLUCA TRIP, Egypt Nov 2010, Pt1 | I'm Wits Toopid

    […] Standing at the Edge of the World Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Adventures, Humour, OrigEresting, Photography, TravelBlog and tagged art, Camel, Culture, Egypt, Farmers, Life, Muslim, Photography, Poetry, Short Story, Travel, Travel Blog. Bookmark the permalink. ← NIGHT LIGHTS […]

    Reply
  2. FELUCA TRIP, Egypt Nov 2010,Pt2 | I'm Wits Toopid

    […] Standing at the Edge of the World Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Adventures, Humour, OrigEresting, Photography, TravelBlog and tagged art, Crocodile, Culture, Drink, Egypt, Felluca, Life, Mummy, Photography, Poetry, Pyramids, Sphinx, Tourists, Travel, Travel Blog. Bookmark the permalink. ← GUNS OUT FOR JEDWARD […]

    Reply
    • ShaneWozEre

      Cheers dude. Your blog looks great. If you ever see anything that you like and would like to repost please just let me know.

      Reply
      • bradjaeharris

        Definitely. Shoot me a message in a few weeks once I get through the submissions already in, and I’d be happy to share something! Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

