9.10AM: Arrive in Japan.

10AM: On a train into Tokyo. View is not dissapointing. All the villiages look like

cartoon cliche’s of what you’d expect.

11.30AM: Arrive in Tokyo Urito and stash my bag in a locker. Go out to check out

the view. Urito park is fantastic and gather myself next to a guy juggling a giant

vase. So far, so good. The weather is fantastic. Maybe I should have brought

suncream.

02.00PM: After wandering around the area for quite a while I find my capsule hotel

but have to wait till 3 before I can sign in. Feeling a little worried about getting

sunburnt now and the job of getting suncream in a place where you can’t even read

the text in the crazy witchdoctor labels (some crazy angry looking old Japanese lady

trys to sell me spot cream!) I seek shade and refuge in a Starbucks (I know, I know!

But give me a chance; it’s another fucking WORLD out there, you have no idea.)

Also, starting to get tired now having been awake (bar a few hours sleep) for

24 hours now. Wondering what the hotel will be like.

03.00PM: Hotel does not dissapoint. (see Capsule hotel log) View from the top floor

lounge is great. Really quite tired now but have to go buy a camera cause I’m leaving

for Kyoto tomorrow (and HAVE to take photos of capsule hotel!)

04.20PM: Right, here’s the plan, make my way across the city using Tokyo subway

system, buy camera, get something to eat, get some stuff from bag at the locker,

back to hotel, go to sleep.

04.30PM: Trying to figure out Tokyo subway system. Easier than most things.

05.00PM: Get kickass Cannon camera. Works out about 10% cheaper than back home.

Not too bad.

05.20PM: Going to get a McDonalds (I know, I know, but am really tired now and not

feeling fantastic and the last thing I need is some dodgy meal. Also, don’t expect me

to be that adventurous with the food here cause I don’t like fish or being out of my

food comfort zone)

05.22PM: Holy fuckballs, guy is cleaning entrance to McDonalds with a toothbrush.

Not figuratively, he’s actually got a toothbrush.

05.30PM: Big Mac, fries, sitting in squished up line with everyone else (contently

packed all together and perfectly ignorant of each other) Can’t say it’s the best Big

Mac and fries I’ve ever had. Really fucking tired now.

06.00PM: Get off at Ueno station and go look for bag. Spend a whole fucking hour

wandering the streets nearby before I find it (turns out Ueno has 3 train stations

and not 2 as originally suspected.) realise when I get to bag that I will have to

deposit another 600 yen (eight quid) in the machine if I want to open locker again

(the lockers in a capsule hotel not big enough for a suitcase) MOTHER FUCKER!!

Can do without the few supplies. Dejected and tired, make my way back to the hotel.

07.30PM: Meet a few europeans in the hotel and swap tales.

10.00PM: Finally get to sleep (again, view capsule blog, to come)

